York photographer Jennifer Duncan reaches final of Countryfile’s 2010 photographic competition

A MOMENT of magic has landed this York photographer a place in the final of Countryfile’s 2010 photographic competition.

Jennifer Duncan, 31, beat off competition from more than 65,000 other amateur photographers to impress the celebrity judges, John Craven, Chris Packham and Jo Brand.

She is one of 12 finalists whose shots will now appear in the 2011 Countryfile calendar, which will be sold in aid of BBC Children in Need.

Jennifer’s photo of a line of puffins watching another puffin jump in the air was taken in July on the Farne Islands, just off the Northumberland Coast.

She said: “It was a really lucky shot. I love the way all the puffins are looking at the one puffin jumping in the middle.

“When I arrived on the island there were all these photographers with really big cameras and then there was me with a really small camera – it was a bit embarrassing.

“I’m just an amateur, but I really enjoy it. I did an evening class in York and that really improved my photography.”

Jennifer, who works for Exponent International Ltd, in Harrogate, said she had been taking photos since she was a young child. “When I was a kid I tried to take portraits of my pets,” she said. “I kept pigeons and used to take pictures of them.”

The theme of this year’s Countryfile contest was “a moment of magic”. Of the 12 finalists, the judges have chosen their favourite, who will receive £500 worth of photographic equipment.

Members of the public have also been voting for their favourite by phone, with £1,000 worth of photographic equipment up for grabs for the winner. Voting lines closed yesterday and the two winners will be announced on October 10.

If you would like to see more of Jennifer’s photos, visit her website at jduncan-photography.com

• The deadline for entries to our own photography competition is this Thursday.

Comments are closed.